Characters in Nerd Camp

So I’ve had quite a few “characters” while teaching camp this summer. While none of them will ever live up to the legend of Jasper, the silent three year old that captured our hearts by shouting “PENIS!” at the top of his lungs and running around the planetarium butt naked, some of them stick out in my mind. For example, last week there was an 8-year-old who kindly nuzzled my breasts. I thought perhaps I just mistook the hug for something a little, well, feel-ie, but I’ve been informed by other female counselors that no, this kid definitely has a thing for boobs.

Then, this week, and it’s only tuesday, there’s the kid who kept shoving his hand up my skirt and rubbing my leg (of course, he was four, and he was sucking his thumb at the time, so perhaps that had something to do with it). This is the same kid that today, while standing on the upper quad, next to the statue of Carolina’s favorite amunitionless confederate soldier, decided to drop his pants and pee. He didn’t pee on a bush. He didn’t excuse himself from the group. He simply turned his back to everyone, pulled ’em down and took a leak. I continued to give directions for the game we were playing, hoping that I wasn’t making a big deal of it, to perserve the camp experience for the kids who maybe had not noticed. I then turned to him and told him that he needed to let me know if he needed to use the bathroom because we did not use the bathroom in the middle of the quad. He informed me that he just HAD to take a “tee-tee” and that “the bathroom was just too far away”. Now how do you deal with this?! The other counselor said she just looked up, keeping a head count of all the kids, and just found a little white butt stickin’ out in the group. I have no idea whether or not I should make a deal out of it and tell his parents (I mean, he didn’t use the bathroom in his pants, or in the classroom, or thank gosh, behind the treehouse) or if I should let it slide and just keep an eye on him more closely. I mean, if he felt comfortable dropping his pants in the middle of a grassy area, I’m betting that public urination is no problem for his parents! They probably just whizz on the side of the road all the time! They need no gas station bathroom key!

*sigh* Nerd Camp. :-p

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on June 28, 2005, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I adore you! Your stories remind me of my summer of camp… *sigh* They are great, aren’t they? Great in that they’re soooo bad sometimes. Love, love!
    Amanda

  2. [q]For example, last week there was an 8-year-old who kindly nuzzled my breasts. I thought perhaps I just mistook the hug for something a little, well, feel-ie, but I’ve been informed by other female counselors that no, this kid definitely has a thing for boobs.[/q]
    My sister’s not the only one!
    Not sure if this makes me feel better, or worse.

    • I’m not sure how this should make you feel either. I think perhaps it should make you feel better that she’s a normal kid — in some respects. I mean, it’s perfectly normal for her to be interested in what her body parts may end up looking like. However, she still thinks its funny to poo in the yard and tell everyone about it. I don’t think that has anything to do with an interest in what growing up is all about. Unless of course, for some odd reason, she associates yard poo with puberty. Where could she have gotten THAT connection from? hmmm?!

  3. LMAO. And THAT is why I do not deal with the kiddies 🙂

Leave a Reply

