Back from the Beyond Section…

Well, I’ve returned from the beach, where I had an awesome time…Patches and I got along great, although I feel a little confused by some mixed messages he gave me.  Perhaps its payback from my freshman year of high school, when I would openly like him one day and then pretend to be totally apathetic towards him.  Although, I’d like to think at this age I’m too old for playing games…I realize that I’m probably not, especially when I look around at the behavior of some of the other people my age.
   Specficially, I’m speaking about what I witnessed at the pool on Monday (wow, I almost wrote Thursday.  I guess that’s because it felt very much like a Thursday) with my family.  There was a girl, and a guy, about my age, who sat around the pool drinking Smirnoff and Orange Juice.  I can understand one, maybe two…but they had a cooler in which the guy kept pulling out empty bottles.  After he left (taking the cooler, but leaving all the empty bottles behind) I counted two empty wine bottles, the empty Smirnoff bottle, and an empty blue bottle of something or other.  The girl passed out in the sun for a couple of hours (One should never drink and swim!) and awoke later, just in time to for two of her other guy friends to come and pick her up.  Her dorsal side (I mean, I guess that’s what you would call it…) was completely toasted — as was she.  Her guy friends immediately began throwing water balloons at her from over the fence…which promptly broke and littered the ground behind us.  At least one of the guy friends, astonished that she drank so much, cleaned up her mess…the mess which was making its way, annoyingly, into the pool.  I mean, I was cleaning out vodka wrappers and mike’s wrappers, and I was seriously concerned that one of the glass bottles would break and I would cut my foot on an invisible piece of glass.  Sigh.  While I might be caught in a water balloon fight at the pool, I would never drink that much there…I’d be too afraid of falling in, inebriated…or breaking glass…or perhaps that’s just my only concern because I’m so prone to dropping things.  Especially breakable things.
    Later on that day, I had an awesome time at Janzie’s Bash, with Patches, Janzie, Alex da Spazz, Erm, Erm’s Sister, Critter, G*d Amanda, regular Amanda, Curtis, Andy, Meredila, ShyDi, Allison, Betsy, and…um…there were lots of people there.  We had good food (although, there wasn’t much available for the herbivore part of me…) and musics (although I was dissappointed to find that the Encore cd I gave Alex had disappeared) and later we all drove up to campus to see the fireworks, where we ran into Toothie and Paddie Wonshu.  The fireworks were a little less than overwhelming.  They were pretty close, in fact I’ve got a tiny little burn on my leg where a piece of flaming firework landed, and they were pretty unimpressive.  We kept thinking that the “Grand Finale” was coming (for some reason, that is the exact phrase we all used to describe our dissappointment) and were duped at every turn until suddenly, the very soft music from Mix 101.5 ended (I mean, we couldn’t hear a thing!) and the lights in the stadium came on.  For a few seconds, no one moved, in awe that the fireworks could have been that not good.  We all went back to Janize’s where I felt a little ill…so Patches took me home early.  We watched a couple of Simpson’s episodes, well, I set out with the intention of watching a couple of Simpson’s episodes.  Instead, I promptly fell asleep on the couch.
  More fun promises to follow this my week off, because I get to see a new superhero movie, hooray for scientific experiments gone horribly worng!  And, I think I’m going to go see the Guy’s Tale play…  At any rate (also known as “anyway”)…  I didn’t pass the cheek test or the finger test this morning, and it could be that because I’ve been on vacation I’m getting sloppy with my meds schedule.  I’ve fallen off taking the HCTZ on time…mainly because I have to remember to take it 30 minutes before my medicine is due, and usually by the time I remember to take my medicine it’s a couple of hours late.  I’ll have to get on top of that.  In fact, I should probably stop working on this, go, fix myself some breakfast, and hop out of vacation mode.  I’ll do that…right about now….okay, maybe now.  Yes, now would be good.

Oh, by the way. (Still haven’t left to take my medicine yet… ha!)
I took a Quiz to find out which Mythological Creature I would be, if I were a mythological creature, that is.  And, the results turned out exactly as I thought they would…I would be a mermaid. I’ve wanted to be a mermaid my whole life, ever since seeing the Little Mermaid (although, Splash effectively killed that.  The mermaids in that weren’t as pretty…more flaky and fishy looking).

Mermaid: Mermaids are also known as Sirens. These creatures were beautiful women who tricked sailors into becoming completely entranced by their haunting voices and found death soon after. Not all stories of Mermaids are about gentle loving sea people. They are mystical, magical, and extremely dangerous. They have a way about them that brings anyone they are around to seem enchanted. They are very mysterious creatures and to meet one… Would mean certain Death. Let the song of the Sea fill your soul, for you are a Mermaid.

I guess perhaps that would explain all the time that I’ve been spending at the coast recently, and at the pool…  Anyway, you can take this quiz, and other assorted interesting but not always so accurate quizes at QuizFarm.com.  And now I will leave for the kitchen!

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on July 7, 2005, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. wow, total prime example of why glass bottles are PROHIBITED around every pool i’ve ever seen – it’s one of those classic rules that’s up there with “no diving in the kiddie pool”
    😉

    • Like, I KNOW! 🙂
      Us firey pool mermaids (because I’ve discovered I have a fear of ocean fishes) don’t appreciate glass bottles near the pool!

Leave a Reply

