London Bridge is…

As to what happened in London, I am in shock about the London Bombings (You can click on the picture for updates). To be more precise, I feel shocked that I am not in shock about what happened. I am surprised at myself that I don’t care more about what happened to the people in London…however, some how, in the back of my mind I keep thinking “Well, it was their turn…” and “Who couldn’t have seen this coming?” I remind myself that that is no excuse, whether or not it was their turn to experience a horrific bombing has nothing to do with the fact that they have experienced one. And it sucks, it really sucks, for all the innocent (well, I will assume) people that were blasted due to an argument in which they had no part. However, I can’t muster up the strength to really put my heart and soul into caring. It seems that with all the killings going on lately, I’ve become pretty apathetic towards life in general. Life is good, life is great! Life is a gift, even. But if the “christian” president of ours has taught us antything, it’s only temporary. There’s the death penalty, there’s his “war on terror” which is going around killing people left and right, and there’s the terrorist attacks against the country, due to stupid politics…life is fleeting, and no tomorrow is guaranteed to no man. Somehow, I keep thinking “we’ve all got to pick a time to die, now is as good as any…” although I certainly don’t have a death wish for myself.

Does this make sense?
Because it makes sense up here, in my head, I’m just not sure if it’s coming out there right…

Perhaps it’s just my generation’s turn to experience the apathy. I mean, if history is circular and all, and everything repeats itself…I suppose that this is just the time for the people my age to have our vietnam war. I mean, college students have to have a reason to protest right? What college experience would be complete without finding something to protest about? And of course, I can see the future because I have studied the past. There will be the fighting, and then there will be the fighting to end the fighting, and then there will be the apathy, and then there will be the drug use and the drunken debauchery as people decide that there is no reason to try to prolong the inevitable any further. And eventually people will want to get healthy again because they will forget the horrors of a time when it seemed that everything was being bombed left and right, and the hippie town Chapel Hill has become will turn back into Granola Capitol, USA..full of yuppies and such… The wheel goes around once every 30 years or so I should say…

That which has been is that which will be, and that which has been done is that which will be done. So, there is nothing new under the sun — (Ecclesiastes 1:9)

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on July 8, 2005, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. agreed on the apathy… maybe we’ve been a generation of “shock” and maybe the movies and sensationalism in the news has just numbed us to this… i, too, have felt an ebbing sense of “woe” and sympathy with each announcement of an instance like this…
    kind of troubling

Leave a Reply

