Crap on a crap stick…

My wonderful day was brought down by an article in today’s Daily Tar Heel.
Seriously, I have never been quite so dissappointed by any student on this campus, ever. I have never felt bad about being a student here, and I have never felt so alienated by the simple fact that my so-called race is in the minority here. This is one of the last places that I have felt secure in being here, one of the last places where I could say that America is a good place to live – despite the Jefferson Davis Highway marker, the stupid frat boys and their rebel flags, and the Silent Sam statue donated by the Daughters of the CSA. I think now I’m sick enough to move. I have to get out, and get out soon, and it’s all because of people like her.
Seriously, she made me cry.
“It’s sad, but racial profiling is necessary for our saftey”is the editorial today written by Jillian Bandes.
Surely she’s kidding when she says:

I want all Arabs to be stripped naked and cavity-searched if they get within 100 yards of an airport. I don’t care if they’re being inconvenienced. I don’t care if it seems as though their rights are being violated. I care about my life. I care about the lives of my family and friends.

What’s worse, her justification for racial profiling is that all of the terroist attackers on 9/11 were Arabic. She ignores that they were also all male. Does this mean that all men should be sexually harassed when they try to get near an airport? Of course not, because stereotyping people phenotypically makes life better, right. I mean, this isn’t how Hitler started at all, is it… Worse than that, she goes on to say

After all, we’re the generation of Timothy McVeigh, the Unabomber and Columbine…but those attacks weren’t in the same buildings we toured on our eighth-grade calss trips. They didn’t kill 3,000 of our relatives. They weren’t in our face.

I mean, what the hell?! McVeigh just blasted an entire daycare full of little children…and I guess the fact that all of those people were White guys means nothing. I mean, look where racial profiling got us with the sniper! How many people were looking for a middle aged white guy? I know I was, and I won’t ever make that mistake again. I’ve learned my racial profiling lesson – anyone that appears to be any race can be crazy as all get out. Finally, it really pisses me off that she misused quotes from three people representative of the Arab population on UNC’s campus to justify her arguments. I’m sure they won’t be happy to see how their quotes have been used once they read the editorial… When a person says that they don’t mind being stopped at an airport and having their bags looked through, they don’t mean that they think getting “sexed up like nothing else” isn’t a bad idea, as Bandes claims – referring to Ann Coulter’s quote about how going through an airport security checkpoint can get physically intimate. By the time she finally makes a sane point in her argument, that she thinks that racial profiling can be conducted professionally (Which is wrong…I mean, let’s just go ahead and sew badges on people, just in case we have a hard time telling what race they are, would a star of david work well enough for her? Just read her comment about blonde-haired, blue-eyed, jewish women.) my eyes were too blurred with anger, dissappointment, and resentment to actually pay attention to what her point of view.

Perhaps she just wants attention.
Perhaps she’s just doing it to stir up trouble and get people talking.
But whatever the reason, if there’s one person that feels this way, I can guarantee there’s alot more.
And I just don’t feel welcome here anymore.
I’m glad for all the people, black, white, and otherwise, who have made me feel loved and wonderful during the time that I was here…but honestly, people like her ruin it all.
Today it’s racial profiling against all Arabs because of 19 Saudi Arabians pissed off with the United States that decided to pull off one ballsy act of war. I mean, should we racially profile americans because we dropped a huge ass bomb on two cities? Who knows what it’ll be tomorrow…

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on September 13, 2005, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

