Moving on Friday…

Okay, so I’m moving to Arden on Friday morning. First thing.
I don’t think I’m ready. I mean, really…I act like a worldly and sophisticated person, but I’ve lived my ENTIRE LIFE in Chapel Hill. I know that everyone thinks that I’m this really cool and mature person, but in actuality, I often feel like a dorky little kid whose still just playing grown-up teacher with her stuffed animals. So sure, I’ve moved to other places, but none of them were more than than like, fifty miles away from my birth place. Except for London. Which was three months. And I was nervous about that too.

And, I’ll admit it, I’m nervous.
I’m nervous about learning how to drive around in the city.
I’m nervous about things like, running at the park by myself or something, and then getting bitten by this really poisonous spider (or tick, whichever) and falling down on the trail and then some stranger finding me and then taking me to the nearest hospital and then, when I’m better, me calling Jeremy and telling him “no no, I’m fine, really, just come get me,” but not being able to tell him HOW to come and get me because I don’t know exactly where I am or where he is in relation to that. This would all be cool if I had interent access in the hospital room and could mapquest it, but as I probably won’t, the whole spider/tick fiasco will ruin my life and I will wish that I had just stayed in Chapel Hill.
I’m nervous about not knowing how to deal with the diversity (or lack thereof) at my new school. What if the kids hate me because I’m Black and they refuse to listen to me and someone burns a cross on our front lawn. The latter will be especially bad, because we live in an apartment, and I don’t think that our neighbors or the apartment people will appreciate that – especially if they’re not black and they’re all like “You see, we let black people move in and now we’ve got crosses on our lawn too!”
I’m nervous about not making any friends!
What if I don’t make any friends?

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on June 24, 2007, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. 1. you will be fine
    2. you will be fine
    3. you will be fine
    4. i will miss you

  2. We should get lunch or something before you go. I know you’ll be super busy… I get out of class at 1pm, we could meet somewhere in Carrboro around 1:30… how’s Tuesday sound? My treat!
    I’ll miss you!
    Also, you will be living 15 minutes from Asheville. Not only does that make me incredibly jealous, but it gives me a reason to look deeper into that area for work. 😉
    Some facts:
    The class sizes in Buncombe County seem to be reasonable, as does the spending per student. (Asheville City Schools even more so.) Test scores seems to be higher than average in most cases, as well.
    I’m not sure about diversity, but I’ve understood Asheville to be a lot like Carrboro, which is why I’ve been looking into moving there, myself. I’ve also been told the job market is HIGHLY competitive, and that has kind of turned me off (even if I can get a job, will Alan be able to?)…
    You and The Boy both have jobs. You have a place to live. You’re moving to a very relaxing and beautiful area (whose venomous creatures shouldn’t be too different from what you’re used to).
    And, if you need to call Jeremy to come get you from the hospital, I’m sure the hospital name will be on your medical bracelet, and he can mapquest it or ask for directions. No worries, you’ll be fine.
    *kisses*

    • Thank you, and I would love to get lunch, but I’m going to be in camp at 1pm. Stupid the Camp. However, I’ll be done by 4! We should have some parties…like on Wednesday night..or Thursday night.
      Yay! Part-ay on Thursday. Maybe I’ll put it on Facebook.

      • mmmmm, partay! Just don’t tucker yourself out before moving day! How are you teaching camp and moving on Friday? That is talent, I tell ya. 😉
        We could still grab dinner or something on Tuesday, but a party sounds like more fun. 😀

  3. Invest in bug repellent, and try to relax. I too think you will be just fine. Your awesome Boy is coming with you, and the Asheville area is really nice. I believe in you!
    -Schwing

  4. Breathe, stretch, shake…punt a small child in the face. You’re just over-worrying, everything will be fine! And if not, you can always move back after you give it a chance, yes?
    Is there any time you will be free this week since I shall have to make a CH trip expressly to see you???

Leave a Reply

