Nothing to Bitch About

So maybe I don’t post as much because I really don’t have much to bitch about.

First off: Obama won, and, as excited as I am about that, I wonder if The Daily Show will continue to be interesting without Dubya fodder. And I wonder if I will have to re-structure my identity as someone who isn’t a political cynic, someone who can once again believe in the American Dream (at least the political American Dream). I mean, I’ve spent my entire adult life frustrated, indignant, and not just a little ashamed of our government. I’ve spent my entire adult life defining myself as someone who couldn’t possibly support what “they” are doing and now…now the “they” represent my ideals?

Secondly: My students are actually pretty good. Sure there were the two kids who told me I “need to shut up and mind my own business” and there were the two kids who walked away from me in the hallways of their schools spewing profanities and assuring me that they weren’t even talking to me in the first place. And yes, there was that anonymous letter that was sent, about me, to my principal and Central Office, but that was thrown in the garbage by the aforementioned parties mainly because, as they say, they don’t “do” anonymous mail. And, my students are really good. The other kids didn’t belong to me. At least not this semester!

Thirdly: Can’t really complain about members of the opposite sex either. I know that usually I would be inclined to write something such as “boys are dumb”, or that I’m at least supposed to be writing things and saying things about how much married life sucks. But the truth of the matter is, it doesn’t. The Boy and I have a great relationship, in fact, it’s probably better than ever. He thinks I’m hot, despite the fact that I can’t believe I’ve gained twenty pounds in the five months that we’ve been married but at least, and my mother points this out as well, I’ve got a man who finds me attractive and I don’t have to worry about the fact that I’ve gained twenty pounds in the five months that we’ve been married — at least from that perspective. And I’m even getting used to hearing my new last name. The other day, I had to sign a receipt for a credit card I used with my old last name and I felt that somehow I was lying to the bank. It is weird, I do admit, having a legal alias.

Lastly: Aside from continuing to have weird medical issues, my health is pretty good. There as the crazy lapse in health care (Thanks-a-million State of North Carolina!) but once that got all taken care of, I went back to taking medicines as usual. No extended hospital stays. No extra wardrobe for my “bad” days. And, I might even be able to begin to wean myself off of the remaining prescriptions next year.

Yes. Life is pretty good.
Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go find something to bitch about.

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on November 15, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i am really happy for you. 🙂
    dinner soon?

Leave a Reply

