Protected: Hooray for Jesusmas!

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below:

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on December 19, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Enter your password to view comments..

This post is password protected. Enter the password to view any comments.

Hooray for Jesusmas!

I know that usually about this time of year, I become a Grinch, declaring that surely the spirit of Christmas must be evil – but, I haven’t had to go a mall or do any Christmas shopping lately, so I haven’t had to deal with that aspect of things. Perhaps it is only the Mall Spirit of Christmas that is truly evil. I got lots of presents and treats from students (and from friends) and of course, a couple of insanely sweet co-workers, even though I thought I made myself perfectly clear when I openly declared my disdain for “Secret Santa” games. No, don’t buy me a present and I won’t get you a present, and maybe we’ll exchange cards and holiday greetings — or even bring brownies to a party for all to share. So yes, so far this year has been a good one for Christmas. Maybe I’ll even change my mind about the holiday…maybe.

I suppose though, that what I was most excited about (which might have had a damper put on it thus far) was working on my beer belly…and trying to stay up later than my 9:30 bedtime. Yes. I’m prematurely aging. At least as far as the sleeping late thing is concerned. Although I have to remember that just because I’m up for some fun doesn’t mean that everyone else in the world has the day off (week off…couple of weeks off) from work like I do.

I’ve already gotten The Boy his present…now here’s crossing my fingers and hoping that someone wants to celebrate the birth of our Lord and Saviour by contributing to the “Get Lici A New Computer” fund.

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on December 19, 2008, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Join the Bah Humbug club…
    My poor grandma, she keeps asking and asking, “How much money do you think I should give them?” And then, “I don’t want to give them anything,” or “Lord, that’ll be near about three hundred dollars!” Don’t give anybody anything, I tell her (which is just about what I do). But she’s still caught in the giftmas obligation cycle at 90.

  2. I can contribute love and affection, but that doesn’t usually exchange well in Best Buy.
    Hooray for winter break! The only thing that keeps us coming back after the first half of the year!

Leave a Reply

