Leasing and Consulting

What do I do as a leasing consultant, you might be asking.
I know that everyone does. It’s such a glamorous job, you see, and it’s such an exclusive position. I know that many people must be dying to know. Inquiring minds and all that.

Well, for the first time in ___ years, a leasing consultant has agreed to tell the world what it’s like to do her job. And she’s doing it today. That’s right, yours truly is going to let you in on this fabulous new job of hers.

Okay. Let’s be honest. It could be more fabulous.

I did sign my first lease. Woot.
I do have three-five other people who are "going to send in the application, really" pretty soon. Half-woot.
And I do feel like I contributed something to the office environment, thereby expanding my mind and giving myself purpose in the world.

Who do you think levied for the candy in the office?
Who was it who said "we should get water for the fridges in the apartments we show"
Who was it who said "Yes! Target is the place to go to set up a mini-model. It will be perfect!" and "Can’t we ‘stage’ these apartments? I heard about that on some home selling, house-flipping show." (If you must know, all of my miraculous sales expertise in this field comes from watching some home-selling, house-flipping show.)

And, I would like to proudly point out that THE FIRST PERSON who visited my new mini-model did the following things:

  1. She took a roll of smarties from the candy bowl. Score one for me.
  2. She accepted the mini water from the fridge, gladly.
  3. She didn’t turn in an application yet (she’s going to send it via email) but she did drop off a check to cover the holding deposit.

Now, I’ve had plenty of people who come in and say that they really like the place, but, without candy, refreshing water, or other pliable incentives, they promise to drop off an application…and never do.  I have never had any body drop off money, and not follow it up.  Checks is surrious bidness.

Did I mention that she was the first visitor to the mini-model?  She walked in.  Dropped off a check. 
Consult … lease…swish!

I don’t know how I feel about the reality that humans can be so easily swayed by a few bright colors and sugar. 

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on July 2, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I can’t help but read this and think about the serial phone rapist and LMAO.

Leave a Reply

