Too Much to Handle

Or..rather, too much to write about.
This past week I have been sick, as in throwing up sick; started the first week of school and watched as one of my more insane students got hauled off to Juvie for punching the SRO in the face (well, I didn’t actually watch, I just heard about it later…) on the third day of school; got stuck on Highway 50 when my alternator died and made friends with a woman and her kids who picked me up, took me to the gas station, and let me use their cellphones (the family turned out to know my mom…interestingly enough); gotten my hair done (ooh, my little locs are about 2.5″ long now!); run out of prescription meds and gotten an “emergency” refill; gone to my brother’s birthday party – after getting a migraine and throwing up yet again; and oh yeah discovered delicious crêpes with Alison.

On top of all this, thing I am most excited about (besides repainting and decorating my classroom, that was pretty exciting…) is the completely awesome book I’m reading – The House at Sugar Beach by Helene Cooper a story about the author’s “lost African childhood”. At about the age of 13, she, her mom, and her sister fled from civil war in Liberia. The book is fascinating because it not only includes a look at the events leading up to the civil war from a child’s perspective (as well as from the more clear view of an adult looking back on events) but it also gives an overview of Liberian history, as well as vividly describing familial history.

In short, it’s all good. Especially for non-fiction, which is usually pretty boring to me.
Great book, reads like a novel. If I could buy 20 copies, I think I would teach this book as part of World Literature. Or American Literature – since the author did end up fleeing to Tennessee, going to school at UNC, and becoming a White House correspondent for the New York Times…and Liberia was, at one point, an American colony. Hm.

By the way, what amuses me, the reason it says my mood is “amused” is not the way my skin smells like Fresh Cream due to the new body wash I’ve tried, nor the blue tips on my fingernails that I drew using my new Nail Art Pen, but because The Boy is doing his best Rock Band David Bowie impersonation, and just got to the RAWWWR! part. Which was great.

“I’ll sell my soul for you babe…”

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on August 30, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

