I Guess I’m not the Hipster I thought I was…

Really?
Because I’ve been accused of having a tendency towards hipsterness more than once.
And also because I’m pretty good at opining about movies/music/etc. As far as race is concerned, I’m pretty good spotting the “good intentions” behind things. I think I’ve got great race-dar (You like how I did that, don’t you? Admit it) and I’m also pretty good at calling myself out about it. My husband is pretty good at this sort of thing as well.

And I loved Crash. There is a giant poster of it hanging on my wall – along with other movies about race and class. American History X is another of a my faves. But somehow, I missed the discussion about just how bad Crash is for some – and then I had to reflect on my reasons for liking this movie.

Somehow, Norbit didn’t win Worst Movie of the Decade award and Crash did?
But perhaps it is because, to quote the author of this piece, I am a Black Woman who “believe[s] in the curative qualities of yet another ‘dialogue around race’…” At first I had to think about this – because I didn’t realize that was a bad thing. In fact, I’m pretty sure that it’s when we attempt to have a colorblind and raceless nationalistic view of the world that things get screwed up.

Fortunately, there were a few commenters who made me feel vindicated

http://ta-nehisicoates.theatlantic.com/archives/2009/12/worst_movie_of_the_decade.php

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on January 1, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

