On October 15th…

We saw Old Bean for the first time.
I was shocked – SHOCKED, I tell you – to find that I could, in fact, see him right away. Head, bottom, legs, arms all folded in – it was amazing. But, not as nearly as amazing as watching the little flutter of a heartbeat right in the center of Lil’ Peanut. 9 Weeks, 0 Days, and already the little life inside of me was beginning to look like a human.

And there was only one!
And – to compound good news with so-so news…. I have a fibroid! Which makes my uterus measure a couple of weeks larger than it should be at nine weeks – it’s not that I have twins or, horrors, some sort of giant embryo. In fact, according to the OB, everything looked perfect.

She left us alone to stare at the screen – and so that I could get out of my paper clothes and back into some cotton ones. And then, The Boy and I had a deeply profound conversation – one that acknowledged the gravitas of the events we had there witnessed that Friday.
“We’re gonna be parents,” I said.
“I know,” he said.
“No, like, for reals…!” I said.
“Yup, I know!”
Then we grinned at each other like fools and gave each other a high five.

Yup, according to the doctor, everything looked perfect. She said this right before she bounced me.
“You seem like a very nice girl,” she said, in her soft, Polish-tinted voice. “However, I must say that we cannot see you here.” She was especially concerned about my kidneys and a creeping little heart condition that has never really affected me before. The practice went so far as to give me my money back, telling me that they’d simply bill me for the ultrasound later.

So – we’re on the hunt for a new, high risk, OB.
But at least this time we’ve got some ultrasound pics in our pocket (Well, The Hubs has it in his pocket) and confirmation that this pregnancy is on! (As if the flatulence, nausea, heartburn, and pregnancy brain weren’t symptoms enough.)

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on October 17, 2010, in Pregnancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ok, so I completely missed the post where you talked about being pregnant (school’s been nuts), so I went back and read that. Oooooh my goodness, congrats!! I got a little misty eyed towards the end too. ❤
    And that is one amazingly honest doctor. I didn’t know that was possible! I hope you can find another doctor that’s just as honest and will make sure you’re absolutely doing ok. 😀

  2. OH, wow, congrats! Had to go back and read your pregnancy post as well. Any baby name ideas yet? 🙂

  3. SQUEE!
    1. I want baby names! (Remember, no Zuri!)
    2. You needs to post some ultrasound pics!
    3. We needs to have dinner soon.

  4. This is really really exciting.
    Baby!

Leave a Reply

