From the virtual desk of President Obama:

 

Statement by the President on the Paycheck Fairness Act

I am deeply disappointed that a minority of Senators have prevented the Paycheck Fairness Act from finally being brought up for a debate and receiving a vote.  This bill passed in the House almost two years ago; today, it had 58 votes to move forward, the support of the majority of Senate, and the support of the majority of Americans.  As we emerge from one of the worst recessions in history, this bill would ensure that American women and their families aren’t bringing home smaller paychecks because of discrimination.  It also helps businesses that pay equal wages as they struggle to compete against discriminatory competition.  But a partisan minority of Senators blocked this commonsense law.  Despite today’s vote, my Administration will continue to fight for a woman’s right to equal pay for equal work.

This was the first update I’d read on the Paycheck Fariness Act.  And I think that my jaw actually hit the desk.  Um…really?  I didn’t think that this was a controversial issue.  I thought that certainly the Mama Grizzlies would be all for bringing home the salmon.  What happened to the bearing down on the senate?  (That totally was not my pun, it came from an article I read – "Mama Grizzlies Bear Down on the Senate" –  about how the Mama Grizzlies would totally be fighting for female interests.) 

Okay, okay, to be fair, there’s only one Mama Grizzly in the Senate, Kely Ayotte (NH), and she JUST got elected – so I s’pose she can’t be responsible for turning the tides all on her lonesome.  But seriously, there was not on Republican who felt that the Paycheck Fairness Act merited a vote?  I’ll be interested to read the reasoning behind the vote.

Very interested.

But not nearly as interested (wow, this seems really shortsighted and selfish now that I type it) as I am in my doctor’s appointment today! :-p

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on November 18, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

