18 Weeks…

I have been so sick for the past couple of weeks.

(How sick were you?)

I was so sick that I didn’t go to school on Monday and WOULD have called out Thursday had school not been canceled for snow.  Now, that doesn’t sound very sick, but one must keep in mind that it was the last week of school before winter vacation and that my days with the kids were numbered.  I was desperate to get into the classroom!  I was so sick that I spent the entire Monday playing video games, which was about the only thing I could do OTHER than take shallow, raspy, and calling in to the OB.  I was so sick that even though I didn’t really get a good response, I called back in on Thursday, sounding all the world like Ma from "Ma’s Roadhouse", and told them that my "nasty cold" had lasted a week and I wanted to see someone about it.

The doctor diagnosed me with an upper respiratory infection and explained that my parasite was fine.  Apparently, babies are perfect parasites.  The take what they need, and generally avoid getting infected with colds and stomach influenza.  So while I’m throwing up at home, the babe is only slightly annoyed that his world is being heaved to and fro.   In fact, that morning, as I lay in bed gasping for air after throwing up my cough medicine in the nearby trashcan, Old Bean began fluttering about.  "What are you so happy about?" I had asked my stomach, grumpily.  The Boy, who was getting dressed for work at the end of the bed, looked confused.  He wasn’t happy at all.  He was worried about me.  Then he realized I was talking to my uterus.  Old Bean responded with hiccups, which, of course, momentarily took my mind off the sickness that had taken over my life.  I quickly grabbed The Boy’s hand and pushed it over the bump in my tummy – he looked at me and smiled.  Then he kissed me on my forehead and headed off to work.

I got some azithromycin and refill on my albuterol inhaler and was sent back out into the snowy world…where I met up with Meredila for Elmo’s deliciousness.  Then, I slept till, what felt like, Friday (taking a break only for some Papa John’s that gave us a stomach bug…I should have kept sleeping!).  Fortunately, school was canceled again, and The Boy was able to take the day off work to take care of me.  (At this point, I couldn’t even speak!)  But, by Saturday, I felt well enough to head up to The Mom’s house to drop off Christmas presents and visit with the fam.  (The presents were a hit this year – The Boy and I definitely exchanged knucks on the couch later.)

They all remarked on my tummy and how pregnant I looked and asked to touch it.
My mother and sisters had never felt the baby kick, so when it started up, I called them over.  Bean then stuck out some body part (it felt like a butt…) and I put my mother’s hand on the tiny bump – which squirmed in response.  Bean usually does not like to be touched…or does like to be touched, I’m not sure which.  Either way, a warm hand in the general kicking vicinity almost always stops all motion.  However, he didn’t stop this time; she could feel the bump squirm.  My mother, mother of three, master of public health, 24 year veteran registered nurse, exclaimed "EWWW! It’s alive!"

My thoughts exactly.

And though I was disappointed with some aspects of the day, (The DREAM Act failed to overcome a GOP filibuster with five votes…and five Democrats, including one I voted for, voted "no" – I’m not sure how Kay Hagan plans to get my vote after this.  It’ll take a Christmas miracle, methinks.) the fact that DADT was repealed, and the fact that I got to spend time with part of my family…with a fireplace…with snow outside…made it, overall, a good day.  

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on December 19, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. i hope you’re feeling better for christmas and i’m super excited for you.
    x-liz

Leave a Reply

