Motherhood is Amazing

Month 1:
She has learned so much in such a short period of time!  She went from having NO IDEA how to eat (leaving both of us in tears in the lactation consultant’s room) to being a pro at finding her food.  She went from 7lbs three days after her birth to a whopping 9lbs and change at her 3w checkup!  (Head – 80%ile.  Height – 50%ile.  Weight – 75%ile.  Short and chunky…with a big head. That’s my baby!)  Seriously, we spent the first week of her life traveling back and forth from the hospital, because they were concerned about her weight – only to finally get a pediatrician who says that since she gained an entire pound from week 2 to week 3, we should think about spacing out her meals a bit more.  She went from screeching like a baby eagle to being able to articulate different noises and sounds to give us a better idea of what she needs.  And we finally figured out that she sleeps best on her tummy (actually, she sleeps best on another person’s tummy…any other person’s tummy) – which has been a plus for all involved – and loves riding in the car seat, whether it’s strolling through the neighborhood or riding in the car.

Now.
If she could just go more than two nights in a row sleeping at normal hours it’ll be all good.
Currently, she likes to wake up for a snack about every two hours.
This becomes a problem when she passes out during the daytime and then wakes up – and stays up – every couple of hours from 11am until…
This is why I’m posting this at 5:00am.  She just went to sleep…which is how she got the nickname “Lumberjack” (as in Monty Python’s “The Lumberjack Song”).  Pretty much the second day she was born – up until now – when she cries we find ourself saying “Hey, you’re a lumberjack…and you’re okay!  You work all night and you sleep all day.”

Wait..what was that noise?  Uh-oh…She’s stirring…I’d better make this quick.

Okay – what else about sleep?
Oh yes.  She sleeps well on tummies…and in carseats…and in carriers…anything that’s good and cozy.  X-Men First Class…still not sure how I feel about that movie…but what is good is that we (The Boy, Serdia, and I) went to see it with Petals (As in Zuzu’s petals…another pretty instant nickname) in her wrap carrier – and I’m finally starting to get the hang of carting her around in that thing too.  This carrier, though not as hands free as I would have liked, and a bit expensive, imho, for what amounts to a really long piece of cloth…. has actually been great for carting her around in.  The only problem is that it’s june…and it’s hot…so staying in it for long periods of time isn’t really a good idea.  Unless, of course, she’s in a cold movie theater. :-p

Other than sleeping, I’d also like to tackle the INSANE amount of spit-up that comes out of that baby!
INSANE.

Wait..what was that noise?  I think that was a bit of spit up…
Sigh. 🙂

What else?  Oh yes…
Motherhood is amazing.
I couldn’t be more happy cleaning up spit-up and staying up late.  And as much as I disdained pregnancy, and as much as I hated childbirth, she was totally and completely worth it.  I see, now, why people continue to purposefully procreate.  The pain and nausea lead to the most adorable chubby cheeks and tiny feet and delicate fingers…and some of the loudest baby poops I’ve ever heard.
😀

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on June 20, 2011, in Baby, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. 🙂 glad to hear that motherhood is so amazing and that you’re enjoying it thus far. sounds like lots of hard work to me!

  2. 🙂 glad to hear that motherhood is so amazing and that you’re enjoying it thus far. sounds like lots of hard work to me!

  3. 🙂 glad to hear that motherhood is so amazing and that you’re enjoying it thus far. sounds like lots of hard work to me!

  4. 🙂 glad to hear that motherhood is so amazing and that you’re enjoying it thus far. sounds like lots of hard work to me!

  5. 🙂 glad to hear that motherhood is so amazing and that you’re enjoying it thus far. sounds like lots of hard work to me!

  6. 🙂 glad to hear that motherhood is so amazing and that you’re enjoying it thus far. sounds like lots of hard work to me!

  7. YAY!! I have totally been checking your journal for an update, because I figured you had long since had her by this point. I just read your other post, and now I’m all caught up. 😀
    This whole post and the other with the flickr link (she is SO adorable…oh good gravy!!) is adorable and amazing and…*cue rampant baby-rabies*
    Also, I ~love that name. Zuri! So gorgeous!

  8. YAY!! I have totally been checking your journal for an update, because I figured you had long since had her by this point. I just read your other post, and now I’m all caught up. 😀

    This whole post and the other with the flickr link (she is SO adorable…oh good gravy!!) is adorable and amazing and…*cue rampant baby-rabies*

    Also, I ~love that name. Zuri! So gorgeous!

  9. YAY!! I have totally been checking your journal for an update, because I figured you had long since had her by this point. I just read your other post, and now I’m all caught up. 😀

    This whole post and the other with the flickr link (she is SO adorable…oh good gravy!!) is adorable and amazing and…*cue rampant baby-rabies*

    Also, I ~love that name. Zuri! So gorgeous!

  10. YAY!! I have totally been checking your journal for an update, because I figured you had long since had her by this point. I just read your other post, and now I’m all caught up. 😀

    This whole post and the other with the flickr link (she is SO adorable…oh good gravy!!) is adorable and amazing and…*cue rampant baby-rabies*

    Also, I ~love that name. Zuri! So gorgeous!

  11. YAY!! I have totally been checking your journal for an update, because I figured you had long since had her by this point. I just read your other post, and now I’m all caught up. 😀

    This whole post and the other with the flickr link (she is SO adorable…oh good gravy!!) is adorable and amazing and…*cue rampant baby-rabies*

    Also, I ~love that name. Zuri! So gorgeous!

  12. YAY!! I have totally been checking your journal for an update, because I figured you had long since had her by this point. I just read your other post, and now I’m all caught up. 😀

    This whole post and the other with the flickr link (she is SO adorable…oh good gravy!!) is adorable and amazing and…*cue rampant baby-rabies*

    Also, I ~love that name. Zuri! So gorgeous!

  13. congrats to you and the boy. she’s such a cutie. and you both are awesome parents. i can’t wait until i’m a mother but that seems so far off from now. but i still look forward to it. give me about 3 to 4 years.

  14. congrats to you and the boy. she’s such a cutie. and you both are awesome parents. i can’t wait until i’m a mother but that seems so far off from now. but i still look forward to it. give me about 3 to 4 years.

  15. congrats to you and the boy. she’s such a cutie. and you both are awesome parents. i can’t wait until i’m a mother but that seems so far off from now. but i still look forward to it. give me about 3 to 4 years.

  16. congrats to you and the boy. she’s such a cutie. and you both are awesome parents. i can’t wait until i’m a mother but that seems so far off from now. but i still look forward to it. give me about 3 to 4 years.

  17. congrats to you and the boy. she’s such a cutie. and you both are awesome parents. i can’t wait until i’m a mother but that seems so far off from now. but i still look forward to it. give me about 3 to 4 years.

  18. congrats to you and the boy. she’s such a cutie. and you both are awesome parents. i can’t wait until i’m a mother but that seems so far off from now. but i still look forward to it. give me about 3 to 4 years.

Leave a Reply

