Month 2 – Eight Weeks

I’m writing this at 3:47am.
Zuzu is squirming in my lap as I write it – grabbing and scratching at the arm that is restraining her body.
The time is important to note.
This is the time when I officially gave up trying to get to sleep this evening.

Zuzu has been waking up every single hour, on the hour, requesting food – and after trying to feed her and put her back to sleep (either in the bassinet, in bed with me, or in her wrap carrier) I finally gave up.  I’ve been up with her.  Her father has been up with her – despite having to wake up early for work in the morning.  (He took the day off today – well, I guess, technically yesterday – because Zuzui had been up from 1am until 4am.  Considering the bullcrap that’s been going on with my family, and my lack of sleep, I think he thought I needed the help.   I did.)  I am very frustrated by this turn of events – she’s gone from sleeping at four and five hour stretches to thirty minute catnaps – and I would be quite upset, except for the fact that she’s learned a new trick that makes it all worthwhile.

Petals has gotten the hang of smiling.  Occasionally, they still look a little insane…but… nonetheless, she’s figured out how to bust out a beautiful and heartwarming grin at just the moment when you’re feeling the most frustrated.  Ack – she’s thrown up on my favorite shirt!  Not to worry, there she is, warm brown eyes and big toothless grim.  Oh no!  Did you poop on your onesie?!  There she is, ready with a twisted, lopsided smile.  She’s even figured out how to squeal or squeak in order to draw attention, often yelling at us when we’re paying too much attention to the television or computer or, our most recent purchase, smart phones.  She’s also figured out how to do this when we’re trying to sleep.  Scree!  Screech!  Look at me!  Grin!

Her grandparents go absolutely silly when they see this.

Zuzu and GranNanaAt a whopping 13.2lbs – at least she was on the third, I’m not so sure about today after her buffet of breastmilk – she appears to me to be a huge baby, though many assure me that she’s got a lot more growing to do.  And she’s made lots of strides.  She can lift her head up when placed on her stomach, and she can even push her chest off the ground.  She can scoot with more emphasis, and along with grinning and smiling, she can also gurgle, coo, and babble along with the best of the beginners.  She’s also, adorably, getting the hang of giggling, though this still sounds like a cross between getting ready to cry and choking on saliva.  A cute cross of getting ready to cry and choking on saliva, but it’s going to take a little work before she’s full giggle.

We’ve been doing a lot of visiting and showing off these new skills.
On the 15th, she visited my dad’s family for a father’s day cookout.
On the 23rd, she visited my step-dad’s family for the annual June get together.
On the 3rd, she visited with Carol and Monte’s family for the fourth of July cookout.

This week, we’re taking it slow.  Or at least we would be.

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on July 7, 2011, in Baby, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

