Getting Old

My husband and I are getting old. We’re in our late 20’s already. When did that happen? He realized that he was getting old once he stepped into the Foot Action at the mall. I realized that I was getting old once I made a Captain Planet reference that nobody got. I realized that I was getting old once I found myself making the decision to flip the channel to NPR during the song breaks on the local “hip-hop” radio station, and flipping back just to listen to the morning show.

Who does that?
Who listens to morning shows?
Who would rather hear NPR than the latest Ke$ha?  (Who, by the way, declared that the industry needed people like Ke$ha…what the crap was that all about?  I get that the concert industry is dying…but why Ke$ha?)
That’s right.
Old people. And me.

For a while, I thought that everything I was hearing was poop – a la Stan Marsh. Then I realized that it can’t all actually be poop. Right? Someone out there thinks that this (tv, radio, shoes, etc.) is hot. So why don’t I get it?

“Uh oh! That’s fly!” my brother said. “That’s boss!” I thought, for a second, that he was mocking my outfit by using old slang. Then I realized he was serious, and that I was old enough to remember when slang came in…and went out…and then came back in again.
You know who else remembers these things?
Old people.

That’s cool though.
That’s cool.

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Ranting, Yeah... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

