Mommy Pole-Dances…for Her Health and Sanity

I’d always wanted to try swinging around one of those pole thingies – hair flying, Whitesnake blaring.  So when the opportunity presented itself, I jumped.  I, and two of my friends, headed over to the studio that one of my friends had been attending for the past year.  “It’ll be fun, I promise you,” she said.

And she was right.

“Sexy Camp” class numero uno was fun – we did a cute routine incorporating the wall and some basic-basic pole moves.  I worked up a sweat, didn’t realize that I’d been exercising for an hour, and felt like I’d been beaten by, well, a thick, metal pole, for two days afterwards.  I took that as a sign that I was working my muscles.

Today, I went back for more.

Why?  Well…because it was super fun and super challenging.  (Unlike Zumba.  I love doing Zumba, but there’s no challenge…)

The  basic pole class allowed me to practice several new moves – over, and over, and over again.  I felt ridiculous.  I felt silly.  I was sure that the instructor would look over at me and tell me to go home now – pack up your stillettos, you’re outta here, baby!  But she didn’t.  She said that my body would get used to moving in such different ways.  And that once I’d quit depending on the pole to hold my body up (read: actually USE my arm and leg muscles?!) I would probably have less friction burns.

Victory was mine, though, when I finally managed to hold my self up on the pole and pick both my feet up off the ground at the same time to do a hanging leg raise.  Sure, it took me about half an hour – and sure, I was the only one still working on that long after everyone else had moved on to fireman spins.  But still…victory.

About alburnet

New mom, new natural, and..for the last year...still a new teacher!

Posted on August 12, 2013, in Working on Me. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

